Catholicism
Leave a Comment

La Navidad de un Migrante…An Immigrant’s Christmas…

If we didn’t receive any (material) gifts this Christmas, we probably felt unloved…not the author of this poem, though…a pesar de su sufrimiento…dijo…Feliz Navidad!

La Navidad de un Migrante

(Written by a Detainee)

Feliz, Feliz Navidad, entre cuetillos y algarabillas

Todos gritando ¡¡Feliz Navidad!!

Pero la navidad no veo.

 ¿¿A dónde está la navidad??

Gritar quiero y morir anhelo, porque la navidad no veo,

¿A dónde está la navidad?…

Cabalgo en la penumbra de mi soledad,

mi alma flaca Y triste está,

 ¿A dónde está la navidad?

Todos se abrazan, ríen y lloran de alegría

Y a voz unánime gritan, ¡¡Feliz Navidad!!

Pero, pero, si abrazar a mis hijos quiero yo.

Besar a mi mamá anhelo; y en este encierro yo muero.

¿A dónde está la navidad?

Veo un arbolito con luces mil,

me recuerda aquel arbolito por donde las noches duermo,

las estrellas brillan y el frio me abraza.

¿A dónde está la navidad?…¿¿A dónde??…

Veo tamales, ponche, pavo y más,

Pero, pero si de hambre yo muero.

También ropita linda, pantalones, camisas, sacos y trajes…

Pero si yo zapatos no tengo.

¿A dónde está la navidad? ¿A dónde?…

Un día al ver al infinito cielo,

Una tierna voz me dijo: Que al nacer Cristo

En mi corazón nació y la navidad llegó.

¡¡Ahora veo, ahora creo y gritar puedo!!

¡¡Feliz Navidad!!

An Immigrant’s Christmas

(Translated by Ines Chisholm)

 Merry, Merry Christmas, amid small firecrackers and shouts of joy.

Everyone calls out, “Merry Christmas!!”

But I don’t see Christmas.

Where is Christmas?

I want to shout out but wish for death because I don’t see Christmas

Where is Christmas?…

I coast along in the near darkness of my loneliness;

My soul fragile and sad.

Where is Christmas?

Everyone hugs, laughs and cry for joy

And with one voice call out, “Merry Christmas!”

But…but…if only I could hug my children.

I yearn to kiss my Mom.

But in this confinement, I feel myself dying.

Where is Christmas?

I see a tiny tree with a thousand lights,

It reminds me of that little tree

Under which I sleep at night,

With the stars shining and the cold embracing me.

Where is Christmas? Where?

I see tamales, punch, turkey and much more,

But…but…I’m dying of hunger.

I also see lovely clothes—pants, shirts, jackets, suits…

But, I don’t even have shoes.

Where is Christmas? Where?

One day, looking at the infinite sky,

A sweet voice said, “When Christ is born in your heart,

Christmas arrives.”

Now I see, now I believe and I can at last shout out,

“Merry Chrismas!!!”

Leave a Reply

