Catholicism
Comments 4

oh my, I’m 35…

Thanks FB friends for all the greetings and wishes posted in my timeline. Very well appreciated. Computers and internet are phenomenal modern inventions. Without social networking, I’m lucky if I get 5 greeting cards unless I throw a party. Since my birthday this year falls on a Sunday and taking a day off nearly impossible, I didn’t plan anything except spend the day in celebrating the mystery of faith (isn’t that wonderful?), passionately share the good news (rarely happens), graciously give holy communion and greet and talk and smile and laugh, say a prayer and give a blessing outside after mass. Can’t get anything better than that. The fact that it rained, it hailed and the temperature probably went below 50 (just guessing), freezing cold in Coolidge nation, I had every reason to say, it wasn’t a perfect time to celebrate and grill.

I’ve always thought that March 18 is a day for the insignificant, for the nobody’s. It’s because I’m stuck between two pillars of Christianity, March 17- St. Patrick’s Day-observed almost as a holy day of obligation for Irish and everyone else who wanna be and March 19, the Solemnity of St. Joseph-celebrated universally with Gloria and Creed even in Lent.

Overtime, I’ve developed the habit of keeping it secret and no reminders. In fact, at the 5pm mass, people had no clue, not even the family who invited me for dinner saturday evening. Initially turned down the invitation but as I scrounged for food in the fridge and elsewhere in the house, there was none. I phoned back and said, I’m coming! with my appetite…

Since some of my parishioners are in FB and word gets around, I figured this strategy won’t work and not only that, if you belong to St. James, whatever happens in the community spreads  easily. The fact that I reach 35, my life is a bonus. I find inspiration in the sacred text, Mt. 25 as my favorite. I deserve nothing and this keeps me going. Faith, family and friendships are the three most important things in life for these are the stuff money can’t buy. Amen.

This entry was posted in: Catholicism

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

4 Comments

  1. Lori Milner says

    Amen to faith, family and friendships! We love you, Fr. Jojo! And your birthday is a perfect time for us to celebrate the gift of YOU! Thanking God for loaning you to us.

  2. Margie says

    Belated Happy Birthday, Fr. Jojo! May God continue to bless you and keep you in His care.

Leave a Reply

