The New Roman Missal
Leave a Comment

The New Roman Missal

Early this year, we at St. James, have begun our preparation for the implementation of the New Translation by a presentation given to the Pastoral Council, Catechists and Liturgical Ministers. To gear it up, series of talks will be held in the church along with booklets as resources for further reading. Bulletin inserts are provided weekly to get a sense and help in the transition. I, for one, have attended many trainings sessions conducted by experts which made me feel confident by the manner it was narrowed down to me. I’ve also encountered die-hard critics who have no energy introducing the new changes and listened patiently to their arguments. Although the words/phrases/sentences seem longer than the current and sound strange to me, what I think about it matters less. The moment I step into the sacristy and put on the vestments, it’s like entering into eternity. I entrust everything to God and to Holy Mother Church.

Hope not but if I mess up so be it. I’m not worried about the First Sunday of Advent because the Missal will be used for a long period of time. That said, I have much time to recover from my mistakes in chanting the words hard to pronounce and in leading the congregation. For now, since we’re working on budget, I’ll get a copy from a publishing company that sells it lower than $79 chapel edition. Below is a video about the New Translation created by Lifeteen Inc. Amen.

This entry was posted in: The New Roman Missal

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

