Parish
Leave a Comment

Super Bowl

If there’s such a thing as the 11th commandment in American society, perhaps, it is “Thou shall not miss the Super Bowl, forget not to pick your favorite TV commercial and brace yourself for a huge conversation the next day. I’m not a huge fan of this sport that’s for sure (slowly getting there) but I followed the playoffs from the start and predicted early on that the Packers, an injury- ridden team, were heading to the Cowboys Stadium. Part of it was luck but I was amazed at how they exhibited talent, showcased team work and demonstrated high level of energy. The Steelers, being the 2nd seed, was to a large extent expected, talk about their defensive line and experience. 
This Sunday, I’ll have the chance to watch the Pro Bowl with the town’s football fans at the American Legion, invitation courtesy of our very own K of C. I’d probably take off at halftime though and stay home because, you know, even if I’m not rooting for any team, I easily get carried away, usually pretending I’m in the field joining the action. That’s something I have to remind myself. It’s hard to tell who’s taking the Lombardi trophy but I got a feeling, it’s a close game and the Packers will triumph as the clock winds down. Wink.
This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

