Parish
Comment 1

Just do it!

In all the masses yesterday, Sunday, I made the congregation aware of the recent burglary took place in the church days before Christmas. I told them that we’re currently accepting bids for the replacement steel doors which might cost around $1,400. I jokingly shared with them the idea that if we can’t afford it, I’d probably take a part-time job, babysitting and laundry work for me, on my day off. After the Mass, a couple shook my hands, commended me for what I said and assured me, not to worry, they’ll drop the check sometime this week. I replied, Thank you very much and may God give you back a hundredfold! 
The hardest part for me as a Parish Priest is asking money during Mass personally because I just think it’s not the right place to do (that’s the conservative side of me) and it makes people uncomfortable especially to those who aren’t quite familiar with the financial aspect of running a church. It’s corporate, yet not for profit. It involves money, collection, fundraising and the likes. But, yesterday, I tried to convince myself, to get out of my shell and just let the word out. Tell them what happened and what needs to be done asap. A voice from within suddenly came loud, it’s for the Church, St. James parish community and not yours to pocket. Go ahead. I did, including the price. I also encouraged them to do the best they can to protect the church and its premises against any harm. Amen. 
Next in line, Surveillance camera…
This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

