Parish
Comment 1

December Madness

As history tells, record shows, past observation suggests and evidence confirms, I thought Christmas Mass attendance was going to be a holy stampede. It wasn’t and I wondered why. There isn’t a lot of Catholics in Coolidge or better yet, they left Mother Church. Where have all the Inactive Catholics gone? Even the 7pm Christmas Eve Spanish Mass had a very tiny participation. I don’t know. I tried to convince myself that maybe, families went out of town but hard to believe because the following day’s Spanish Mass was packed. Anyway, it was a good turn out. I can’t complain and have to stop whining. I just had a very high expectation, common to first timers and had to lower it but I’m learning, counting the blessings and focusing on the bright side. I know I’m not much gifted with a great sense of humor and won’t even try, yet I approach parish life with a renewed sense of joy and peace, the stuff I preach. 

My energy was easily drained by December madness, not because of the masses, although it was a factor, but by the myriad of decisions made as soon Christmas holiday sets in, usually regarding sacramental/liturgical services, and organization of parish activities. It was alright. Guess, I just need sometime off but don’t know where to go. Grand Canyon? freezing cold…Tucson? might snow as forecast says…Anthem? stop spending…NYC? not this time…For now, i’ll stay indoors, get to know more the place, catch some sleep, watch NFL and learn about culinary arts following my family’s leanings…Lol! 
But truly, when asked about Christmas Mass schedule, I was like, what did you do in the past? Let’s adopt it for now and I’ll see what I can do next year.  I’m very new and don’t want to mess up with what the parish had gotten used to. Amen. 
This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

