Parish
Leave a Comment

Adoration

The 24-hour adoration of the Blessed Sacrament every Friday morning following the 7:00AM Mass is a powerhouse of the parish. Its blessings are enormous. The harmony it brought and the lives it changed over a period of time are beyond any stretch of the imagination. That being the case, I take advantage of it. Spending even just a few minutes leaves me a flurry of messages that warm my soul, touch my heart, calm me down, tune me in and set me on fire with love, gentleness and much care. 
St. John Marie Vianney Chapel
It may of little interest and a waste of time to some but it’s an escape from a busy world, an attempt to shut me down, essential to maintaining spiritual wellness. It’s an effort to recover my profound goodness when others make me feel less human. It helps me encounter the Living God under the appearance of a tiny piece of bread that might not hit the market in ebay and yet, constantly reminds me how deeply I’m loved. In a noisy environment with lots of distractions, where everything should be funny and folks seek to be entertained round the clock, this little chapel in the parish office, where weekday masses are held, promises to offer divine peace and not simply, vain pursuits. 
St. John Marie Vianney Altar
Be still and know that I am God (Ps 46:10) is immensely refreshing particularly to those whose job, myself included, is extremely demanding. It is a sacred rhythm that recharges my spiritual battery and renews my lifetime commitment. I venture that the mistakes people committed in times past are due to a lack of proper spiritual direction and poor choices. Together with the parish prayer warriors, a moment of silence helps me relive the memories of the past, tells me to focus on the present and refrain from worrying about the future because it will take care of itself. Nonetheless, when someone is in deep prayer, distractions don’t matter. Amen.   
This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

