Parish
Leave a Comment

Hidden charges…

In a letter sent by Wellsfargo dated sometime last week, I was awed upon knowing that my name was on the gift list of an absolutely free portable DVD player, a fancy gadget beyond my budget and shopping expenses. What! I said in ecstasy…Excuse me for the term but it felt hitting the jackpot. It sounds real nice and in these tough times, a freebie is the best opportunity to lower one’s expenditures. It says that the company is offering a Travelers advantage card and suggests a number of hotels to spend on my vacation. Whheww!…Let’s see what you got. When something is too good to be true, you’ve got to ask and think twice. Looking meticulously at the details to avail of huge discounts and great hotel deals, it was free for only 30 days after which, a monthly fee of $13.99 will be charged in my credit, unless it’s cancelled. Dang! The same holds true with Verizon. The agent notified me that there was going to be a one-time $35.00 activation fee but when the billing statement arrived in my desk together with the check attached on top of it for signature, I almost fell on my chair. There were hidden charges. 
Unless we pay close attention to the details of our life and examine it thoroughly, we won’t be able to see the depth, clutter and mess in a busy world. No wonder, things more often become muddled up. For some, devout Catholics who come to daily Mass are considered crazy for waking up early, an hour of the day best spent for feeding the animals or watch and read the morning headlines over a cup of coffee. 
But I reminded them this morning that this regimen is an effort at picking up the scattered pieces, abandoning the world for God and leaving the worries behind. Somewhere down the line, it gets straightened out. Two days after moving back the daily Mass to 7 in the morning, a teary- eyed gentleman shared to me that he was completely changed and started to put a smile on his face on the way to work. Conscious about the time but dared not look at the clock, my homily was pure gibberish so, it was rattled up and yet, it had an instant impact. That said, it wasn’t about me but him who strengthens. Amen. 
This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

