Parish
Leave a Comment

Holy Order…

Last Tuesday, I gave a presentation to the RCIA and Profession of Faith ‘students’, for a lack of better term. I was supposed to talk about Holy Order but ended up sharing about the Sacraments in general. I mentioned that since God, a supernatural being, immaterial, otherly, beyond the physical world, there’s no way to capture his whole reality because of the limits of the senses and human language. That’s why, we operate through signs and symbols which we call the sacraments, that point us to the divine. I honestly wasn’t able to say a single word about Holy Order but it was alright as I dwelt a great deal on the sacraments.
When I opened the floor for some questions, a lady at the back named Chris Stogsdill, the Adult Faith Formation Coordinator, asked about my experiences after 4 years in ministry. Well, I said, it’s a disciplined life. There’s nothing automatic in what I do. To strive for holiness draws me into silence and if ever, I get out of bed earlier than I used to, it’s because of faith.
But as a whole, the life of a Pastor is an interesting attempt at making sense of senseless things and telling the untold, like the 75 year old suicidal woman, living alone, whose family resides out of state, accused by a cousin of stealing 200 bucks, walked for over half an hour to get to the parish office to beg for food and $25 medicine for her depression. I don’t think there’s a need to ask whether she has documents or not. A broken hearted lady, in her 20’s, came over to the office asking for someone to talk to, a sounding board and a shoulder to cry on. But, after she’s done giving voice to her concerns, she said, she was fine, laughed and politely asked to leave. Amen.

This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

