Parish
Leave a Comment

The Feast of the Triumph of the Cross

When I was in Elementary, I always looked forward to the Feast of the Triumph of the Cross not because I knew exactly what it meant but in actual fact, I was just excited celebrating the feast in Barangay Sta. Cruz which obviously went with it throwing a huge party for all the invited guests including walk-ins. Well, it was scary to feed at least 100 folks in a tight and limited budget. I’m not sure how families managed to do it but they apparently did. They started to worry about the bills to pay the following day and that’s a typical filipino thinking.
Now, I look at it in a totally different mindset. The Triumph of the Cross gives me an insight to the divine. It tells me that the cross, which was once a symbol of shame and punishment reserved only for criminals, has been the sign of the deepest possible expression of love and sacrifice. And this is beyond human compression. Thus, the cross should not be interpreted as a pure human achievement. It doesn’t talk about reaching the pinnacle of success from a merely human perspective. The victory, the cross represents isn’t similar as winning a championship game or hitting $$$ power ball.
It clearly indicates that God has a different operating system. It highlights the fact that God does not follow the logical sense. It puts on stage the principle of non-violence which is the most genuine mark of Christianity.
After the Mass, an older lady came to the sacristy and commended me for my homily. Is Fr Jojo still here? I said, not here. She chuckled. Basically, she told me that what I said was similar to the reflections written in a book by a Japanese theologian. I could not remember the exact title but it has something to do it with, 3 mile with God. Too bad, I was still very sleepy and my memory then was on stand-by mode.
That’s how it goes with Preaching. It always leads to a disturbing, mind-boggling, thought-provoking, transforming and ultimately, loving message. Otherwise, it makes no sense hearing a sermon that does not direct people to an encounter with the divine. Amen. 

This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

