Parish
Leave a Comment

Meeting Marana in 2005

Leaving the Seminary was filled with extreme excitement, anticipation, missed opportunities for growth and great hopes of making a huge difference in the lives of people. Part of the excitement was the first parish assignment which remained a mystery. Rumor always had it! However, in a situation where one had no full control, the best thing to do was to wait to lessen the rising stress level and to focus on things important. It was a wise idea channeling my time and energy preparing for my two ordinations. I didn’t know how but I got over it.

I knew I was supposed to complete a total of 10 weeks internship program at St. Christopher Parish in Marana, AZ a small community northwest of Tucson. I had a great and wonderful time. Two months were happily spent. Although the first two weeks were depressingly hard since I was alone at night in a rectory that had more than 7 chiquaqua barking round the clock. It was a total test of patience especially to creatures who can never perfectly say my name but only identify me by smell. That was a plus.

I instantly fell in love with the rectory since a small quite place was all I desired. And because by nature, I’m a firm lover of emptiness, the parish was a perfect fit for me with its country style neighborhood, cactus, dirt road, dry and arid land, cotton field, and the blazing heat of the Tucson sun on top of my head.

On my arrival, there were no fireworks, no glowing street lights, no warm wishers, no greeting cards, no welcoming party, and no one to meet me at the door with or without a smile but the place was absolutely gorgeous. Reason: the Pastor scheduled a two- week vacation before knowing about my internship. It was summer. Parish activities were limited. I didn’t have to work hard. I was basically spending the day praying, cooking and organizing youth group. The big hit was the California trip. We spent a great deal of time and effort raising funds through talent shows, car wash, Sunday morning breakfast and personal donations. It kept me busy doing the logistics. On top of the california trip, we also got invitations for dinner cook-out and swimming. Amen.

This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

