Parish
Leave a Comment

Do not be afraid…

These days you will find captions like “I will never die” “Have no fear” and “Fear not!” printed on mostly teenager’s t-shirts which to some extent tells how they live life and view the world. There’s a kernel of truth if we translate that attitude to the Christian way of life. First of all, it’s normal to be fearful. 


When I had a typhoid fever back in college, I was afraid that I would lose my life. After the Physician broke the news to me about the findings which I considered to be the opening remarks, he further asked if I were interested knowing the closing, I replied, nevermind. I was fearful of my future. 


Even in marriage, no matter how bad a relationship goes, I assume that both parties are still  afraid of separation or divorce. With the highest rate in job losses since the 1940’s, people are fearful about a possible lay off. But again, the Gospel suggests differently, that is, despite faced in impossible circumstances, do not be afraid because this is temporary, something different is about to happen. In fact, it’s said, a love that is fearful is not perfect. Amen.

This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

