Parish
Leave a Comment

to cure disease and illness is a sign of God’s kingdom…

Hospital is one of those places in the world I didn’t want to go. After all, when I was training as a hospital chaplain, before doing daily rounds to my assigned ward and patient’s room, I would sip coffee at Starbucks. I needed a dose of courage and strength to get out of my shell. As a priest, I cannot make an excuse. It happened last Monday, on my day off. I was on the other side of town and someone was actively dying at Kino Hospital. Without questions asked, I left everything at the moment and cared for the person as best as I could. This isn’t something I need to hear from a Master in order to learn. It’s a Pastor’s instinct. It’s a play of the heart. It’s a game of love. When I got into the patient’s room, the glow of happiness on the daughter’s face was beyond words. It was a form of healing needing no scientific explanation. As soon as i greeted her Father with the words, “La gracia de Nuestro Senor Jesucristo, el amor del Padre y la communion del Espiritu Santo esten con vosotros” tears flowed from her eyes. Me, too. Amen.

This entry was posted in: Parish

by

A Filipino Catholic Priest, born and raised in Virac, Catanduanes, Philippines, ordained for the Diocese of Tucson, AZ, eleven years in ministry and counting, currently assigned as Pastor of St. Christopher Catholic Parish, Marana, AZ.

Leave a Reply

